Taking “Notes”

The textile studio is also my office—and some days it’s the other way around. I’ve been lucky to work as a writer and/or editor on many fine craft books in the past 15 years, as both a freelancer and a senior editor at Lark Books. My latest project is the upcoming Alabama Chanin book, The Geometry of Sewing (Abrams, Spring 2017), which explores the marvelous embroidery techniques used in the garment lines produced by the studio. It was a privilege to serve as technical editor for this book; the samples in this photo were my “notes” as I worked through the instructions and accompanying illustrations. I was super inspired by the work (and have always been inspired by Natalie Chanin’s pioneering work in the slow fashion movement) and plan to include some embroidery in the winter goods offered by Melange.

See a mention of the book in the Alabama Chanin Journal; if you read through the entries you’ll also see references to two other books I edited, The Spoonflower Handbook and The Modern Natural Dyer. Many, many thanks to Melanie Falick for bringing me into all three of these projects.

